Stuff I Think About

Wwwednesday – Wondering

What if the power of suggestion was only part of the reason you yawn when you see someone else yawn? What if the other reason was that, because they were expelling more carbon dioxide at once, and you were inhaling it, you needed to yawn both to take in more oxygen and to expel the excess CO2 yourself.

Of course, the fact that you just yawned after looking at this picture kind of negates that possibility.

Of course, the fact that you just yawned after looking at this picture kind of negates that possibility.

*******************************************

Today my Paul and I went to local orchard to get our first cider (not the hard kind, but Europeans, it really is still cider) of the season which, at this particular orchard, you can get for five cents a cup out of a barrel stuck in the wall.

Yet another reason why New England in the autumn is awesome.

Yet another reason why New England in the autumn is awesome.

You can also buy it in gallon containers, of course, but why would you go anywhere else if you can also get instant gratification like this?

Right next to the spigot was an upright glass refrigerator selling all kinds of cheese, including this one:

We get a little bit confused about our r's heah in New England.

We get a little bit confused about our r’s heah in New England.

Armish? Is that like the slightly more warlike cousins of the pacifistic Pennsylvania Dutch? We may never know . . .

*******************************************

On the way home from the orchard with the cider spigot and the Armish blue (not bleu) cheese, we saw a woman dancing her dogs. I mean dancing. She had two dogs on leashes, and earbuds in her ears, and she was literally dancing down the street. My Paul and I both burst out laughing and then remarked to each other how refreshing it was to see an actually happy person acting happy. In public. Which immediately made me wonder what it says about our society when the first reaction at seeing someone acting uninhibitedly happy is to laugh at them. Or is it our society? Or is it just me?

5 thoughts on “Stuff I Think About

  1. I have to admit my rebellious nature came out when I say the picture of the baby yawning and purposely suppressed the urge to yawn myself. Of course, now, writing this,I find myself continually having to suppress the urge!

  2. Pingback: There Are More Than Two Ways to Say Tomato | That's a Jenn Story

What's your story?

