Of Shoes and Ships . . .

Wordy Wednesday – Words

The other day, my Paul said, as if he was saying nothing out of the ordinary, that he really likes the Shoe Boat. This made me very happy because I coined this designation, and also because I like the Shoe Boat–it’s cute. But to explain what a Shoe Boat is, I have to tell you about Shoe Cars.

Shoe Cars are cars that look like shoes to me. Cars that I consider Shoe Cars include Mini Coopers:

Something about these make me think of retro bowling shoes.

Something about these make me think of retro bowling shoes.

Anything?

Anything?

How ’bout now?

Little, and stripey and . . .

Little, and stripey and . . .

bowling shoe 2

Yes? No?

Okay, how about Smart Cars and baby shoes?

Totally an all-star shoe car . . .

Totally an all-star shoe car . . .

Just make 'em into roller skates . . .

Just make ’em into roller skates . . .

I guess Shoe Cars are generally small, but not all small cars are Shoe Cars (for example VW Bugs and Toyota Corollas)–and maybe certain iterations of the Ford Flex are almost borderline Shoe Cars in spite of their larger size, on a similar basis to the Mini Coopers.

All the same, I had limited the “shoe” designation to cars . . . and, you know, shoes. And then last summer the Shoe Boat appeared on the pond:

Ladies and gentlemen, the Shoe Boat

Ladies and gentlemen, the Shoe Boat

Something like a high-top

Something like a high-top

You should see it when it's full of people . . .

You should see it when it’s full of people . . .

What's your story?

