Well, This Is Embarrassing . . .

Wordy Wednesday

I don’t mean, like, really embarrassing? Just “you’ve been blogging for how long and you still don’t know how to do that?” embarrassing.

Some of you–many of you, I would say–have a really nice sidebar feature which depicts either your blog followers or the blogs you follow, by avatar. Pastor Ron thinks I’m computer-savvy because I know how to send someone a private message on Facebook (he’s in his 70’s–give him a break), but we all know the truth. I have to google how to take a screen shot every time I want to take one. Like five minutes ago:

This one's from Charles Yallowicz's Legends of Windemere blog, because it was the first one I could think of that had this feature, and because right now he has an awesome dragon picture on his front page.

This one’s from Charles Yallowicz’s Legends of Windemere blog, because it was the first one I could think of that had this feature, and because right now he has an awesome dragon picture on his front page.

Adding this attractive way of publicising the blogs one visits seems like it shouldn’t be difficult, but for some reason I can’t find that appropriate widget. Help, anyone?

27 thoughts on “Well, This Is Embarrassing . . .

  1. Do you know how to add widgets generally? From your main Dashboard, go to “Appearance” and then select “Widgets” .. drag the “Blogs I Follow” widget over to the right and plop it down in one of the possible fields (Main Sidebar perhaps?)

  2. Hi Jenn. “Blogs I follow” are found in “dashboard/appearance/widgets”. Drag widget from the left to right. Max 50 for sidebar.
    “Blogs I follow” and “blogs who follow you” are found on the black line at the top of the page in the browser. Rest your cursor on your avatar pic. Left click “find friends”.
    Top right: “blogs I follow”. Click edit.
    OR to find “blogs who follow you”. Cick “Stats” (on blue line at the top of page) scroll down to near the bottom and you will see (example: Followers (includes Publicize) 565+ Blog 33+ Comments). Click on blue “blog”
    You were not specific in exactly what you are trying to achieve but I hope this info helps. Ralph xox 😀

  3. I’ve thought about doing this on my blog, but was afraid it would look too “busy”. I don’t think it looks like that on other blogs; I think it looks really neat. But I suffer at the mercy of my own double standard. Perhaps if I get around to an autumn “re-do” …

What's your story?

