My Hair Is Falling, My Hair Is Falling (Out)!

Saturday Snippets

In contrast to the smiley man in the previous Snippet, I think I might be losing my hair. I’m so certain of it that I’m not even going to post a photo of the back of my head to prove it to you, because it’s too embarrassing.

Back when I got diagnosed with cancer and it was assumed I would be having chemo, I actually went wig shopping with a friend of mine, and then went to Bledi-with-Scizzors (I didn’t spell that wrong) and had him cut me a bob just so I could start getting used to something different. But then I didn’t end up needing chemo, so I simply kept the bob for a while and then grew it out.

4thofJuly2009

Although I’ve never had an easy time with my hair, I wouldn’t want to be without it, and it’s always been nice and thick. Every so often I’ll go through a phase where I seem to be shedding more than usual, but it’s never constant and I’ve never noticed much of a decrease in mass or volume . . . until recently. Recently, I’ve been pulling out handfuls of hair in the shower, in the way that women who have lost theirs to chemo describe it. I’ve also not been blow-drying it, but simply braiding it wet, because it’s been so hot here this summer. A couple of times, when I used a handheld mirror to see how the braid had come out in the back, I noticed a little queasily that the crown of my head seemed to be showing through my hair. I was hoping that it was just how I had pulled the braid strands, but yesterday I took a better look and have pretty much decided that that is not what is happening. It’s starting to make the passage where Jesus says not to worry because “even the hairs of your head are numbered” sound more ominous than I’ve ever thought it sounded before. And hey–I wasn’t worried. Until I started realising the hairs of my head are numbered.

“I’m going bald!” I cried out.

“Let me see,” said my Paul from his recliner in the living room. I went over and knelt down so he could look at the back of my head. “Oh,” he said soothingly. “It’s just your part. You just happen to have . . . an inch-wide one.”

I wailed again.

“Don’t comb over it,” he said. “Shave your head. You’ll look cute.”

He seems charitably unaware that if I did that I would look like Dopey of the Seven Dwarves, because my ears stick out and my head is the wrong shape to pull of a successful Sinead O’Connor look.

Then he started fantasising about the kind of wigs I could get. I guess it’s comforting to know my husband will still love me if I go bald, but still. I’d rather not.

25 thoughts on “My Hair Is Falling, My Hair Is Falling (Out)!

  1. This. Is. Happening. To. Me. Too. I had to laugh because I can relate to your post so well… I am keeping a little handheld mirror next to the sink and fearfully yet obsessively checking my head every day. I’m not quite at the inch wide part yet, but if this shedding business doesn’t slow down soon I’ll be there in no time. Can’t figure it out… but have my money on wonky hormones. Or stress. Hoping for vitamin deficiency and upping my vitamin D in a desperate attempt to stem the tide. Urgh.

  2. Jenn, for a moment I thought you had written a post about me! My mugshot (at my blog) is two years old and I have lost so much of this black stuff in the interim I dare not refresh it,,,, Yet, I wasn’t aware of your condition. I guess it’s my turn to pray for you.

  3. Me too. I am trying antifungal shampoo everybody swears by on the web (2% Nizoral by prescription). And lots of biotin. Sigh.

  4. Oh no. I hope it stops falling out. I immediately thought “stress”..my best friends hair falls out in clumps when she gets really stressed out..but I’m just guessing.

  5. I can totally relate to this, I had chemo and radiation at one point! Now my hair is thin and barely there, currently I use extensions and its not easy to feel feminine without a little hair! 🙂 Love your take and you positivity! Great blog!

  6. Pingback: The Haircut | That's a Jenn Story

  7. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering problems with your site.
    It appears as though some of the text on your content are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please comment and let me know if
    this is happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my internet browser because
    I’ve had this happen before. Appreciate it

  8. Pingback: Lupus CureMovie | Herpes Survival Kit

What's your story?

