Ew

Memory Monday

Because we were talking about Starbucks last week, I went to my old blog to look something up, which I didn’t find. What I did find, however, was this story which I had completely forgotten about. On reading it, however, the memory returned in all its revolting vividness. I wrote this in 2009, shortly before I left work at Starbucks for good. This wasn’t the reason I left, but I guess it could have been.

*** 

SONY DSCSo today? The most disGUSTing thing that’s ever happened to me at Starbucks . . . happened to me at Starbucks.The previously most disgusting thing was five whole years ago when the sweaty dude came into the store and handed me some crumpled up bills (no wallet) from his front pocket . . . and they were wet. Bleagh.But today?Today a guy came in and ordered an Earl Grey, to be made in one of our ceramic cups instead of a paper “to-go” one. No problem there. Before he left the store, he put the cup back on the counter. I picked it up and took it over to the sink, talking to Mouse as I pointed the faucet over it and turned the water on to soak it.The water hit the inner curve of the cup at such an angle that it shot straight up the other side, splattering with water and half-drunk tea my face, my neck . . . and the inside of my mouth.

When the sweaty guy handed me his moist moolah, I could (and did) wash my hands very thoroughly after that. But what do you do when someone else’s saliva flies unbidden into your mouth? Pray that they don’t have a communicable disease, I guess, and hang on tight . . .

13 thoughts on “Ew

    • Yesterday I bruised myself on a towel hook and my husband threatened to encase me in car tires so I would just bounce off of things because I had already gotten four other major bruises (on one rock in the forest) that weekend, and then he said, “Or you could just stop and think every time you do something, ‘How is this going to injure me?'”

      But I feel that stories like this one just prove that that approach would never work, because how do you predict these things? You know?

  1. Ewwwww!! I can’t stand drinking after people I know…have a strangers saliva leap into my mouth…ewwwww! He obviously didn’t have a communicable disease since you are still with us and healthy! Yeah to good news 🙂

What's your story?

