Don’t Be Proud of Me!

The Tuesday Reblog
This post is part of a series. For the whole thought-process, start here.

Today I am reblogging myself. The next few posts will all be stages in the same story, and this is information you need to know (or be reminded of) in order to understand what comes later.

That's a Jenn Story

Memory Monday

Last week DJMatticus was blogging about pride a little bit–if and when it’s ever appropriate and stuff. I don’t really want to get into that at this point, but I do want to explore this memory I have about pride. When I was a very very young child, if anyone ever expressed pleasure or approbation over something I had done, I  would cry out in consternation,

“Don’t be proud of me! Don’t be proud of me!”

I still remember this sort of queasy, panicked feeling I would get in those moments, and maybe I even sometimes still get it–less noticeably–because every once in a while one of my parents (usually Dad) will say it to me, which must mean I’m providing some sort of (possibly) more grown up exhibition of the same discomfort with other people’s approval.

The weird thing is, I struggle with codependency, which is, as…

View original post 348 more words

2 thoughts on “Don’t Be Proud of Me!

What's your story?

