Variations on a Theme

Wordy Wednesday

The Readership, I need your advice.

In this process of revamping my blog (you know, giving it features, actually writing in it, stuff like that), I’m starting to feel I want to change up my theme. I love this Matala thing. It reflects me well in many ways. If I had a Volkswagen camper van, I would totally paint this design on the side of it–if I could figure out how to do that. I don’t love the font of the posts, though, and I’ve suddenly started imagining that if a publisher or a literary agent stumbled across my blog they’d be all, Well, I guess we don’t have to take her very seriously then. Kind of like if I got that nose-ring I wanted in my 20’s and 30’s and then applied to work at . . . well, even Starbucks wouldn’t have had me, unless I had taken it out every shift and put a plug in the hole.

It’s not like I want to go completely professional and boring, nor that I want to stop acting like me. This isn’t the world’s most serious blog (nor the world’s most flippant), and I don’t plan to stop telling Jenn stories. I guess . . . well in any case, I’m ready for a change like a new hairstyle, and maybe I want something that’s a little visually easier to read or something. Expect some changes in the Pages, too–I think I may revamp the “Stories Evaluated by a Third Party,” for example.

Now, to find a theme . . .

Like, how about this one?

Because it's named after books. And I'll bet it would read well on a tablet.

Because it’s named after books. And I’ll bet it would read well on a tablet.

Or this one?

For something completely different . . .

For something completely different . . .

Or maybe this one?

Which isn't very serious or "professional" I guess, but I kind of love it and the font is way more readable.

Which isn’t very serious or “professional” I guess, but I kind of love it and the font is way more readable.

Or maybe this?

To which there might be similar objections as to the previous one, but also similar things to recommend it and plus it looks writing-related.

To which there might be similar objections as to the previous one, but also similar things to recommend it and plus it looks writing-related.

If you were me (which I realise you’re not, but I also suspect you’ll do what you can), which would you choose? I do, of course, reserve the right to find some alternative to all of these, but . . . I have high regard for the opinion of the Readership, so have at it. Please advise.

8 thoughts on “Variations on a Theme

  1. Either Book Lite or Runo Lite. I don’t think the other two really live up to your demands. Also, if I weren’t you, or at least less than I am now, but me, and I’d have to chose between those four, I’d be picking Book Lite or Runo Lite as well.

    • Yes, you are probably right about the photoblogs. Although if I had a photoblog-friendly theme, I might take (and post) more photos, like I used to!

      I have to mull over that sidebar thing.

      Thanks for responding! I like it when people do that. 🙂

    • Nice. Thanks! I’m definitely leaning toward Book Lite, although I’m not sure why there’s no archive link, or what to do with all the other sidebar flotsam I’ve got going on over here.

What's your story?

