The Fine Line

Wordy Wednesday
Don't lose this, 'kay?

Don’t lose this, ‘kay?

While it would not be accurate to claim that I have fulfilled my New Year’s non-resolution, I have, as of this writing, sent out three or four submissions of Favored One both to literary agents and to publishers. I have a couple of other ones at the ready . . . but I still need envelopes. And, you know, postage. The ones that have gone out already are, naturally, e-submissions.

Here is the great news: I haven’t heard anything back yet.

You would not necessarily think that was good news unless you had previously sent e-queries and received almost instantaneous rejections, like I have. But I have, so at the moment, no news seems a lot like good news.

Back when I was trying to get Trees in the Pavement published, I got a super-nice rejection letter from the publishing arm of Cricket magazine. I still have it. Why, you ask, would I keep a rejection letter? It wasn’t my first rejection letter, so it’s not like I’m keeping it out of some weird masochistic nostalgia. It was, however, very thoughtful, personal and even complimentary. They wouldn’t publish it because of the overt religious content, but they kept it for three months trying to decide about it. That letter gave me hope. It let me know I had a good book to offer, and if I could just find the right venue for it, it would, indeed, be published. And so it was. (Wanna buy one?)

Then again, there was also the time I sent the requested Favored One manuscript and never heard anything back at all. Maybe it got lost. I don’t know. After a year, I finally admitted to myself I wasn’t going to get an acceptance or a rejection letter, but by then it seemed too late to contact anyone to find out if they had received my submission, and I just decided that they must be one of those publishing houses that doesn’t bother to contact the author they have decided not to publish.

I guess there’s a fine line. If there’s no wait at all, that’s not a good sign. There’s not even time for a sign. On the other hand, if the wait is too long, well, as they say, Hope deferred makes the heart sick. We shall see, I guess, which kind of wait this one is. But for the moment I’m hopeful.

What are you waiting for?

17 thoughts on “The Fine Line

    • You have Trees in the Pavement? Woohoo! Thanks, Bas.

      When are you guys getting married? (You’ve probably said this, but I’ve forgotten.)

      And I always hate to admit I don’t know something, but what’s a K-1 visum proposal?

      • It’s relatively unknown, so no sweat. A K-1 is a visum for non-Americans who are engaged to an American and it’s basically a 90-day time span before I get married in which I’ll be eligible for certain priviliges that I can’t get on a tourist visum (opening bank accounts, getting a driver’s license). All going well, the 90 day period will end with our wedding and smooth into a perminent residence license (green card). The wedding is in August, so there’s still some time to wait πŸ™‚

  1. So you’re a writer! How great is that! I’m struggling with that topic & I guess I’m can answer your question by saying I’m exactly waiting to finally start writing for real… There is many people telling me to do it at the moment & I get what they’re saying, but I just can’t seem to find the…time?mood?story? for it…

    Anyway, now I have to find out what are “Trees in the Pavement” about… πŸ˜‰

    Wish you a lovely day & never loose that hope of yours!
    Julita

  2. Good luck with your latest submission! I’ve only ever self published my own stuff, but will be looking into getting a new book I’m co-writing with my brother published πŸ™‚

    I look forward to seeing how things develop!

    Rohan.

    • Yeah–keep us updated on your progress as well!

      What’s it like to co-write? (I mean, I suppose that’s at least partially dependent on the co-writers, but it’s something I’ve wondered about from time to time.)

      • Will do πŸ™‚ Oh it’s great! We’re writing a sci fi novel (usually I write non fiction so this is a first), being brothers we are very much on the same wavelength. We both write different chapters and then edit each others work.

        We both know the story and characters well so it flows fine. The people I’ve showed it to could not tell who wrote what which is good πŸ™‚

        I’m sure it depends on the chemistry between the writers, but certainly from my experience it’s a lot of fun. And it’s much quicker haha!

        Rohan.

  3. I imagine that “quicker” aspect would be true! Not only do you have someone else doing half the work, but if you’re really undisciplined about writing (as I am), there’s someone else holding your feet to the fire, as it were. I should probably try that . . .

What's your story?

