New Year, Newish Blog

See? It's basically blank. No resolutions. But there ARE some 4-leaf clovers for good luck.

See? It’s basically blank. No resolutions. But there ARE some 4-leaf clovers for good luck.

I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions.

That’s why, when I made one in December, I had to think of something else to call it. Unfortunately, I never did manage. I didn’t manage to keep it, either. One resolution. That I wasn’t even calling a resolution. This is the actual reason I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions. Here is what I didn’t officially resolve–or actually do: I will send out one query letter a week until I get a publishing deal for Favored One.

I did, however, just this week, manage to write a query letter, and send it to Chuck Sambuchino of Writer’s Digest to edit for me. I’m already three weeks behind my initial goal, but you have to start somewhere. With interactions like this one, I just finally realised I wasn’t going to figure out how to pitch this book without disclaiming the whole thing away (and I actually do think it’s a good book) and therefore without some professional assistance. I’ll let you know what he says. Unless it’s soul-crushing. Then I just might not tell you anything for a long time.

Anyway, with one New Year’s non-resolution already unresolved, and with that whole thing about not believing in them, this is probably a really foolish time to start revamping the blog, but the Readership? Dear as you are and always will be, you are dwindling. And I miss hearing from you. Everybody who blogs and tweets and knows about these things says, “You know what will really get you a platform? Relationship building.” I like to think I’m pretty good at relationship building, but I’m pretty bad at asking questions, which is something They tell you to do to help build relationships–so bad that I usually don’t ask any, and when I do, hardly anybody’s around to answer them anymore. (Thank goodness for people like Wibble who just showed up here yesterday and started answering my rhetorical questions anyway.)

I’ve been thinking that the few of you who remain are going to start wandering off soon, because now I’m in seminary again and I’ll likely have even less time to write anything, but I could post what I’m thinking about various theological conundrums, since that’s what I’ll be working on anyway. Which then will probably reduce my Readership to one (I predict the Dutch Missouri-visitor, because he recently asked me if I blog anywhere else about theology). So I’m starting to wonder if, in spite of my resistance to the idea since, oh, 2007, I maybe need to have regular types of postings at regular intervals. Like–Theology Thursdays. Most of my classes will be on Thursdays. Theology is kind of going to be extra on my mind on those days–plus, I likely will have already written something theological for those days, so I can just post it (or something like it) here. And, if it’s Thursday and you hate theology, you’ll know to stay away from my blog that day, but that it’s safe to show up here at any other time. It’s a good plan, right?

But here’s the deal. I want to know what else (or what instead) you come here for? What do you want to read about? I don’t think I can blog more than three times a week, reasonably, with the other stuff going on, but I’d like to try to maintain a schedule of blogging at least that often. Family Fridays, in which I write amusing observations of family life or more charming stories of domestic mishaps? Saturday Snippets, in which I write slightly-longer-than-tweet-length random observations? Um . . . Writing Wednesdays, in which I confess yet again that I still haven’t sent out any query letters? Memory Mondays, in which I regale you with nostalgic tales of my childhood and well-spent youth? (Alliteration was the first literary technique I ever learned–at the age of five. Things stick, when you learn them that young.) Something else?

What do you want me to write? What do you want to read?

9 thoughts on “New Year, Newish Blog

  1. I would like to read about your take on all things random…. for instance when you are driving down the road and you find yourself thinking about blueberries and you suddenly stop your processing and ask yourself, “How, pray tell, did I end up thinking about blueberries?”, and you start backtracking and realise that moments earlier you were thinking about your brother and how you went blueberry picking that time and you slipped down the hill and skinned your knee because someone was careless with their blueberries and so it was slippery , just like the roads this morning and… oh um Ya that would be cool 🙂

  2. Relationship building? Hmm.

    I think any readership follows content and/or reputation, which in some instances has been created from content (or fame, position,relationship to fame). Still, a writer’s work must be available to his target audience.

    Who do you follow on Twitter? People you know personally (in RL or VL)and/or those who offer something in which you share an interest. Relationship and/or content.

    Jay Bilas follows ZERO on Twitter yet has 426,600 followers. Content.

    Word of mouth will be self-perpetuating at some point. Building the critical mass requires help. Ask people to share when they are so inclined. Follow people on Twitter and often they will reciprocate. Tweet the news of a blog post a few times when newly minted.

    And, many do not comment. I read but seldom comment. Invite comments (that question thing, “So, what do you think?”)

    Keep it up, Jenn. Write and have fun but remember that building a following is work.

    • Since I’ve been trying to build one since 2007 . . . yeah.

      Thanks for the input. I’m working on it. I know content is also key–but I tend to follow blogs (and tweeps) with lots of commenters who also write random personal stuff like I do. I usually feel our writing styles are comparable. So . . . what gives?

      Anyway–the content thing is why I asked the question: what do you guys want to read?

What's your story?

