Instead

It is the last day of November and thus of NaNoWriMo. I have 8,000 words to go, and if I buckled down right now and did not stop until five minutes before midnight, I probably could meet the quota.

I used to feel guilty about everything, particularly quitting (no–actually, particularly everything), and so, because I felt surprisingly not guilty about quitting now, with the end so closely in view, I started to feel guilty about not feeling guilty, and so I took a very unscientific poll over on Facebook to see if I could gauge if what I was, well, not feeling was legitimate or something. The responses were pretty evenly divided right down the middle, but, not that I’m rating my friends or anything, I suddenly felt much stronger kinship with the ones who said, “Don’t sweat it–there are more important things.”

I had to pick my Paul up from the doctor’s earlier this afternoon (yeah, he’s fine), and told him about all this. First he said, “You’re so close. Just do it.”

I stole this from Farmville on Facebook and am not sure how to correctly credit it.

A lot like it, actually.

Then he said, “What do you get if you do it?”

“A little badge to put on my blog?” I said.

“Oh,” said Paul. “So . . . it’s kind like FarmVille.”

After I stopped laughing, I decided that instead of writing another 8,000 words, I am:

1. dialoguing with my latest seminary about classes and loans and coming to the delighted realisation that unless something crazy happens like my getting diagnosed with cancer again, I should be able to pay off my classes each year.

2. laughing at my husband’s inappropriate medical humour.

3. working up a new pitch for Favored One.

4. getting reacquainted with this blog.

5. going out to eat with my Paul and some delightfully curmudgeony Now-Church folks. (We like curmudgeons. It’s what we aspire to.)

17 thoughts on “Instead

  1. Love the word “curmudgeon!” You just don’t get as much of an opportunity to use it as I would like. I think the experience of having attempted NaNo is far more important than actually winning and putting the badge on your blog. Though, it is kind of fun to show it off…

    • It’s true. Although the one time I did complete, I was still so unhappy with the result that every time someone said, “You’re a NaNoWriMo winner?” I felt like I had to disclaim it.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Please feel free to do either, again! πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations! Regardless of how many words you write you are a winner…it says so in Psalms πŸ™‚ I am really glad that things are working out for you and the finances for school…probably more than you know as finances are somewhat of a passion for me, particularly in relation to scripture, but more importantly in my understanding of the difference between being free and being a slave. Praying for you and Paul and really thankful that from my perspective God is doing really cool things in you both!

What's your story?

