Happy New Year!

It’s kind of weird to think that this time last year I was still on my old blog and I had not yet crashed my car, or gotten to visit the Brofam in their current Midwestern home yet, or gone to the Newport Folk Festival, or met Paul, or even started the Matchmaker’s prescribed dating plan, mostly because I had only just met the Matchmaker. I had cleaned up Oscar’s mess to end all messes, but we won’t talk about that too much.

Paul and I went to and watched the latest Mission Impossible movie yesterday afternoon and then basically blobbed out in front of the TV all evening, but it was relaxing and way better than getting stuck in Spaghetti Land at midnight on the first day of the year. Tonight there was a New Year’s Day party for the Youth Group at church. You never really know who’s going to turn up to youth group these days–it seems like usually the kids who say they will come, don’t, and those who say they can’t, show up. Although that’s not true across the board either. It’s just basically a toss-up. Tonight we had three guys who are in a band show up who haven’t been to youth group in over a year, and it was great to see them; unfortunately, they came to play a set, too, and they had an audience of six, three of whom were adults.

But . . . well, I don’t know about the kids, but I kind of had fun. We had a nice spread of food, ate well, everyone talked to everyone, the music was great . . . I made a poster on which everyone could write something they were hoping or praying for about 2012, and I’m going to post it in my office with the intent of praying about those things. Let’s hope I actually do it; my prayer intentions are always better than the actual follow-through. If I were going to make a New Year’s Resolution (which I’m not), it would be to make my prayers more intentional and consistent. We’ll see. Last year I made a non-resolution to be dating someone with a view to marriage by now; summer came and I had forgotten all about it, until in September or October or something my dad reminded me of this, with a wink toward Paul.

Anyway, at the end of this evening with the teens, we each got into groups of two (or, in the case of us adults, three), and each took a segment of the Lord’s Prayer. We paraphrased it and put it together as our prayer in this new year. I’m not entirely sure what everybody was thinking in their paraphrase (particularly the treatment of “Thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven,” but I think it was probably a good exercise anyway, so here, unedited, is what we prayed:

God who is in heaven
May your name be worshipped
Your shelter arrives
You will be judged on earth as you are in heaven
Today, give us your support
And we will forgive
As we have been forgiven
Help us make good choices
And protect us from bad stuff like peer pressure and laziness,
Because we belong to you
And you are powerful and awesome and always will be.
Amen.

You could pray for us, too. And we could pray for you. Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Whew! It has been quite a year, hasn’t it?!
    And it sounds like 2012 is off to a very good start. With even better things to come…!

    I think maybe the Lord’s Prayer paraphrase was meant to say:
    “You will be Judge on earth as you are in heaven.”

    • I would like to think that’s what they meant . . . and that’s what *I* mean! But . . . I’m not sure it is. 🙂

      Anyway. Yes, 2012 is looking up! As long as the Mayans were wrong . . .

What's your story?

